Youtube yt Facebook
Yom Shabbat, 3 Kislev 5777

Because our congregation is powered by volunteers, we use several committees to manage activities and make decisions for our congregation. Get involved!

For more information on each of our committees, or to volunteer, please contact the appropriate Board Member (see Our Leadership) or committee chairs (see our Membership Directory, distributed to all members of BCRC).

2014-15 Committees

Brotherhood: Endeavors to support the synagogue through participation, ruach, and commitment. Our goal is to make the synagogue relevant for the men in our club and to make the men in our club relevant to the synagogue. Co-Presidents: Mark Raffman and Bob Arbetter

Caring:  Provides support and caring for members of the congregation in times of need.  Coordinator: Rabbi Sapowith

Communications:  Responsible for all internal and external communications, including weekly email blast, bi-monthly Bulletin, social media, website and advertising. Vice President:  Brian Giblin

Community Events: Coordinates all groups who plan and execute events that build community at BCRC - Brotherhood, Sisterhood, Youth, Social and Tikva.  Vice President:  Amy Steil 

Education:  Seeks to provide meaningful Jewish insight and education at all levels of learning, including our religious school and a wide variety of adult education offerings.  Vice President:  Anna Hild

Facilities:  Maintains our building and grounds.  Vice President: Neil Frank

Finance:  Administers the congregational finances, including dues and tuition collection, as well as fundraising for the congregation.  Vice President: John Fischel

High Holy Days:  Works with the Worship Committee to insure the success of the High Holiday services including seating, security, ushering, honors, logistics and general programming.  Chairs: Mark Raffman and Sue Benezra

Membership:  Works to facilitate an environment where members feel connected and engaged in all aspects of synagogue life, and prospective members want to become a part of our community. We engage in outreach to prospective members; assist new members in making personal connections in our community; collaborate with programming committees; work to encourage member participation in services, programs, and activities; and address member satisfaction to facilitate membership retention.  Vice President: Heather Kern

Mutual Review Committee:  Meets with Rabbi Sapowith to discuss what the congregation and Rabbi are doing right, and just as importantly, where there is room for improvement.  Chair: Jennifer Elgin

Nominating Committee:  Develops the annual slate of officers and board members for approval by the  membership and fills in leadership vacancies as needed.  Chair:  Open (will be filled in 2016)

Sisterhood:  Supports women members of the synagogue through caring, fundraising, and socialization.  Also participates in various community service activities.    President: Lynn Blumen

Social:  Seeks to build community through social activities throughout the year, including our annual picnic, Chanukah party, Purm Carnival, and Spring Road Rally.   Vice President: Amy Steil

Tikva:  Responsible for interfaith activities and the Tikva fund.  Chair: Ray Daffner

Worship:  Dedicated to providing a spiritual home in which you and your family may worship, learn, and grow as you participate in Reform Jewish practices and observances by planning all worship and spiritual activities.  Vice President: Carol Currier

Youth:  Responsible for youth activities within the congregation and coordination of participation of temple youth in regional events.  Includes CHAVTY (Advisor: Lisa Kimball and Rachel Silien); Junior CHAVTY (Advisor: Open) and Mini CHAVTY (VP Community Events: Amy Steil).